Home Page

Areas of Learning and Development

Areas of Learning and Development


There are seven areas for learning and development within the Foundation Stage Curriculum. 

There are three Prime areas, which are :


* Personal, Social and Emotional Development

* Physical Development

* Communication and Language


There are four Specific Areas, which are:


* Literacy

* Mathematics

* Understanding the World

* Expressive Arts and Design


All of these seven areas are broken down further.



Below, you will find the link to the Development Matters in the  Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) document. We hope that this will be useful to you, to see which areas of development your child will be progressing through.